Virtual Open Day for International Applicants
History and Traditions
Background and formation of Moscow University
Moscow University is rightfully considered the oldest Russian university. It was founded in 1755. The establishment of a university in Moscow became possible thanks to the activities of the outstanding scientist-encyclopedist, the first Russian academician Mikhail Vasilyevich Lomonosov (1711-1765).

In accordance with the plan of M.V. Lomonosov, 3 faculties were formed at Moscow University: philosophy, law and medicine. All students began their studies at the Faculty of Philosophy, where they received fundamental knowledge in the field of natural sciences and humanities. Education could be continued with specialized knowledge in the field of law, medicine or philosophy. Unlike European universities, Moscow University did not have a theological faculty, which is explained by the presence in Russia of a special education system for preparing ministers of the Orthodox Church. The professors lectured not only in the then generally recognized language of science - Latin, but also in Russian.

Moscow University stood out for its democratic composition of students and professors. This largely determined the wide dissemination of advanced scientific and social ideas among students and teachers. In the 19th century, the first scientific societies were formed at the university: Experts of nature, History and Russian antiquities, Lovers of Russian literature.
Moscow State University in the 19th Century
In the first half of the 19th century, Moscow University occupied a leading place in the public life of Russia. The traditions of free-thinking were continued by the student circles of the brothers of Crete, N.P. Sungurova, V.G. Belinsky, A.I. Herzen and N.P. Ogareva, N.V. Stankevich. A new stage in the life of the university began after the fall of serfdom in 1861 and Russia's entry onto the path of capitalism. The university charter of 1863 reflected the government's general course of reform to accelerate the country's development. About 1,500 students studied at the four faculties of the university - history and philology, physics and mathematics, law and medicine.
Moscow State University in the first half of the 20th century
In the first half of the twentieth century, the university was one of the centers of advanced scientific knowledge and spiritual life in Russia. The names of prominent Russian thinkers of the late 19th – early 20th centuries are associated with the university: V.S. Solovyova, V.V. Rozanova, E.N. and S.N. Trubetskoy, S.N. Bulgakov, P.A. Florensky. Famous figures of the leading political parties of Russia studied or taught at the university.

The rise of the revolutionary movement on the eve of the First World War also affected Moscow University. In 1911, in protest against the illegal dismissal of a number of professors and the violation of university autonomy, more than 130 professors and teachers defiantly left its walls. The schism in the society during the revolution had a heavy impact on university life. Some students and famous scientists who did not accept the new political order were forced to leave Moscow University. Nevertheless, teaching at the university in the first post-revolutionary decade was continued by world-renowned scientists: D.N. Anuchin, N.E. Zhukovsky, N. D. Zelinsky, A.N. Severtsov, K.A. Timiryazev, S.A. Chaplygin and others.

The Great Patriotic War of 1941-1945 was a difficult test for our country. On June 25, 1941, the first group of students and employees of Moscow State University went to the front, mainly to replenish the command and political staff of the Red Army. About 3 thousand students, graduate students, professors, teachers and employees of Moscow State University did not return from the war. In their honor, next to the 1st educational building in 1975, a memorial sign was unveiled and the Eternal Flame of Glory was lit.

During the war years, the university graduated more than 3 thousand specialists. Scientists of Moscow State University, with their scientific achievements, made a significant contribution to the defense of the country and the development of its economy. More than 3 thousand scientific developments were carried out at Moscow State University during the four military years.
Moscow University in the postwar years
Post-war reconstruction and further development of the country was impossible without a new upsurge in university education. In the late 1940s and early 1950s, the financial situation of Moscow University improved significantly. A huge complex of new university buildings were erected on Lenin (Sparrow) Hills. On September 1, 1953, training sessions began in them.

Moscow University has become a major international center for study for undergraduate and graduate students. One of the first preparatory faculties in our country of such profile was established in 1959 at the university to teach foreign citizens the Russian language. (now the Institute of Russian Language and Culture).
Moscow State University Today
Today Moscow University is the largest classical university in Russia. MSU has 41 faculties (over the past 20 years, 21 faculties have been created), 40 research institutes, a Medical Research and Education Center, a Scientific Library, 4 museums, a Botanical Garden, a Science Park, branches in Sarov, Sevastopol, Tashkent, Astana, Baku, Dushanbe, Yerevan, Koper. The total area of ​​the MSU campus on Sparrow Hills in Moscow is 1,200,000 square meters. The campus territory can be compared to a city within a city - a student does not even have to leave its borders, because there is everything you need: libraries, reading rooms, lounges, printing, post office, laundries, a beauty salon, hairdressing salons, first-aid posts, a pharmacy, a dispensary, canteens, cafes, buffets, grocery stores, gyms, swimming pools, stadiums, courts, bicycle and roller skate rental, parks and car parks.
Lomonosov Moscow State University is also the leading scientific center of the country. In 2021, 7 scientific and educational schools were established at Moscow universities: "Fundamental and Applied Space Research", "Preservation of the World Cultural and Historical Heritage", "Brain, Cognitive Systems, Artificial Intelligence", "Molecular Technologies of Living Systems and Synthetic Biology" , "Mathematical methods for the analysis of complex systems", "Photonic and quantum technologies. Digital medicine", and "The future of the planet and global environmental changes."

Nobel laureates, laureates of the State Prizes of the USSR and Russia have worked and are still working at Moscow State University. Of the 18 Nobel laureates - our compatriots, eleven were graduates or professors of Moscow University. Students of Moscow University are multiple winners of Russian and international Olympiads in various subjects, and its graduates are specialists in demand on the modern labor market.

Виртуальный день открытых дверей МГУ для иностранных абитуриентов
История и традиции
Образование и становление Московского университета
Московский университет по праву считается старейшим российским университетом. Он основан в 1755 году. Учреждение университета в Москве стало возможным благодаря деятельности выдающегося ученого-энциклопедиста, первого русского академика Михаила Васильевича Ломоносова (1711−1765).

В соответствии с планом М.В. Ломоносова в Московском университете были образованы 3 факультета: философский, юридический и медицинский. Свое обучение все студенты начинали на философском факультете, где получали фундаментальную подготовку по естественным и гуманитарным наукам. Образование можно было продолжить, специализируясь на юридическом, медицинском или на том же философском факультете. В отличие от университетов Европы, в Московском университете не было богословского факультета, что объясняется наличием в России специальной системы образования для подготовки служителей православной церкви. Профессора читали лекции не только на общепризнанном тогда языке науки — латыни, но и на русском языке.

Московский университет выделялся демократическим составом студентов и профессоров. Это во многом определило широкое распространение среди учащихся и преподавателей передовых научных и общественных идей. В XIX столетии при университете были образованы первые научные общества: Испытателей природы, Истории и древностей российских, Любителей российской словесности.
Московский университет в XIX веке
В первой половине XIX века Московский университет занимал ведущее место в общественной жизни России. Традиции свободомыслия продолжали студенческие кружки братьев Критских, Н.П. Сунгурова, В.Г. Белинского, А.И. Герцена и Н.П. Огарева, Н.В. Станкевича. Новый этап в жизни университета начался после падения крепостного права в 1861 году и вступления России на путь капитализма. Университетский устав 1863 года отражал общий курс правительства на проведение реформ, призванных ускорить развитие страны. На четырех факультетах университета — историко-филологическом, физико-математическом, юридическом и медицинском — учились около 1500 студентов.
Московский университет в первой половине XX века
В первой половине ХХ века университет был одним из центров передового научного знания и духовной жизни России. С университетом связаны имена выдающихся русских мыслителей конца XIX-начала XX века: В.С. Соловьева, В.В. Розанова, Е.Н. и С.Н. Трубецких, С.Н. Булгакова, П.А. Флоренского. В университете учились или преподавали известные деятели ведущих политических партий России.

Подъем революционного движения накануне Первой мировой войны также затронул Московский университет. В 1911 году в знак протеста против незаконного увольнения ряда профессоров и нарушения университетской автономии его стены демонстративно покинули более 130 профессоров и преподавателей. На университетской жизни тяжело отразился раскол общества в ходе революции. Часть студентов и известных ученых, не принявших новые политические порядки, была вынуждена покинуть Московский университет. Тем не менее, преподавание в университете в первое послереволюционное десятилетие продолжали ученые с мировым именем: Д.Н. Анучин, Н.Е. Жуковский, Н.Д. Зелинский, А.Н. Северцов, К.А. Тимирязев, С.А. Чаплыгин и другие.

Великая Отечественная война 1941−1945 годов явилась тяжелым испытанием для нашей страны. Уже 25 июня 1941 года ушла на фронт первая группа студентов и сотрудников МГУ, в основном для пополнения командного и политического состава Красной армии. Не вернулись с войны около 3 тысяч студентов, аспирантов, профессоров, преподавателей и сотрудников МГУ. В их честь рядом с 1 учебным корпусом в 1975 году был открыт памятный знак и зажжен Вечный огонь Славы.

За годы войны университет выпустил более 3 тысяч специалистов. Ученые МГУ своими научными достижениями внесли значительный вклад в дело обороны страны, развития ее экономики. Более 3 тысяч научных разработок было выполнено в МГУ за военное четырехлетие.
Московский университет в послевоенные годы
Послевоенное восстановление и дальнейшее развитие страны было невозможно без нового подъема университетского образования. В конце 40-х-начале 50-х годов значительно улучшается материальное положение Московского университета. На Ленинских (Воробьевых) горах возводится огромный комплекс новых университетских зданий. 1 сентября 1953 года в них начались учебные занятия.

Московский университет превратился в крупный международный центр подготовки студентов и аспирантов. Для обучения иностранных граждан русскому языку в 1959 году в университете был образован один из первых в нашей стране подготовительный факультет такого профиля (ныне Институт русского языка и культуры).
Московский университет сегодня
Сегодня Московский университет — крупнейший классический университет России. В МГУ 41 факультет (за последние 20 лет создан 21 факультет), 40 научно-исследовательских институтов, Медицинский научно-образовательный центр, Научная библиотека, 4 музея, Ботанический сад, Научный парк, филиалы в Сарове, Севастополе, Ташкенте, Астане, Баку, Душанбе, Ереване, Копере. Площадь кампуса МГУ на Воробьевых горах в Москве составляет 1 200 000 кв.м. Территорию кампуса можно сравнить с городом в городе — студенту можно даже не покидать его границ, ведь здесь есть все необходимое: библиотеки, читальные залы, комнаты отдыха, печать, почта, прачечные, салон красоты, парикмахерские, медпункты, аптека, профилакторий, столовые, кафе, буфеты, продуктовые магазины, тренажерные залы, бассейны, стадионы, корты, прокат велосипедов и роликов, парки и автопарковки.
МГУ имени М.В. Ломоносова также является ведущим научным центром страны. В 2021 году в Московском университеты были образованы 7 научно-образовательных школ: «Фундаментальные и прикладные исследования космоса», «Сохранение мирового культурно-исторического наследия», «Мозг, когнитивные системы, искусственный интеллект», «Молекулярные технологии живых систем и синтетическая биология», «Математические методы анализа сложных систем», «Фотонные и квантовые технологии. Цифровая медицина», «Будущее планеты и глобальные изменения окружающей среды».

В МГУ работали и работают Нобелевские лауреаты, лауреаты Государственных премий СССР и России. Из 18 Нобелевских лауреатов — наших соотечественников одиннадцать являлись выпускниками или профессорами Московского университета. Студенты Московского университета — неоднократные победители российских и международных олимпиад по различным предметам, а его выпускники — востребованные на современном рынке труда специалисты.